Chicken Salad for Lunches

Sorry it’s been so long! Things have gotten away from me lately!

Andy’s been working quite a bit lately—longer hours and more days on-call. I like making lunches him, but I’m not very good at it. I usually make one on Monday, but then get lazy after that. So I decided to just make one big batch of my favorite lunch: chicken salad.

Over the years, I’ve made quite a few batches of chicken salad. Some of them have been downright terrible, but I’ve slowly found the recipe that I like the best!

photo (6)

My Chicken Salad: 

  • Poach 2 split chicken breasts with skin on (I find that boneless, skinless chicken breasts are pretty tasteless when poached, so I usually buy split breasts. Use whatever kind of chicken you prefer!) until fully cooked. Let cool, remove skin and shred meat. 
  • Toast 1 3/4 C slivered almonds at 350 F for 10 – 15 minutes. Set aside and let cool.
  • Chop 1 C celery and 1/2 C cilantro (optional).
  • Slice 3 C grapes in half.
  • Mix all chicken, almonds, celery and cilantro together.
  • Mix 2 packages of nonfat greek yogurt (I use 12 ounces of fage yogurt) with a dollop of mayonaise to taste. Add the juice from half a lemon and whisk until combined.
  • Combine the yogurt mixture with the chicken.

photo (9)

photo (8)

  • Add 1 T of paprika for color and curry powder to taste. I love curry, so I usually add 1 T, but that can be too much for many people.
  • Stir in grapes gently until completely combined.
  • Divide into separate containers for lunches throughout the week.
  • Eat with greens and bread, or just straight!

photo (10)

It’s protein-packed for lots of energy and has lots of crunch, thanks to the almonds and celery. I love this chicken salad, so it’s become one of our go-to meals. What’s one of your favorite recipes for a packed lunch? Hope you enjoy this recipe!

One thought on “Chicken Salad for Lunches

Leave a Reply

