Double Fail

It just isn’t my week, people. I’ve been busy finishing up two tops for myself—a knitted sweater and a silk top—both of which are just don’t work. Bummer!

The knitted sweater is too big and boxy. I guess I should have casted on for the smaller size…photo (53)

The subtle different in color isn’t nearly as obvious when I’m wearing it as it is in photos for some reason. I *won’t* post photos of me wearing it, because I honestly look like the Tinman. Should I just tear it all out and start over? Should I finish up the last sleeve, block it and then decide? To you super-talented knitters, what would you do?

I also worked on a little mint top that I’ve been dreaming up for a while. I based it Colette’s Sorbetto pattern, and added sleeves from the Peony pattern. I added extra seam allowance to make French seams, and even added an exposed zipper to the back.

photo (54)

photo (55)

All in all, I’m happy with the sewing and the overall concept of this top. But it’s too small! Ugh. The opposite problem as with the sweater…

photo (58)

I love the color and the fabric and the design… It just needs to be a bit bigger!

I think I’ll be able to reuse the sleeves and bias binding, and just have to cut out larger front and back pieces. It’ll be pretty once I get it right, I just thought it would be this time!

These crafting fails are always a bummer. I feel like I spend a lot of time planning and measuring. But I guess not enough in these cases!

Has this ever happened to you? How did you salvage the project? I’d love to hear!

8 thoughts on “Double Fail

  1. it’s a fear of getting sizing wrong – and the self-knowledge that I really won’t be careful enough in the planning, I just want to get on with it – these mean that I tend to stick to smaller projects like scarves and hats – though I managed to make some gloves too big recently!

  2. I like a boxy sweater but they work better with wider necklines so you can kind of nonchalantly wear it off your shoulder…. I would finish it, block it BIG and wear it like a big oversized sweatshirt around the house.

  3. What if you let out that front pleat on the blouse to give yourself some extra width? It’s so cute and a gorgeous color on you!

Leave a Reply

