Cath Kidston Stitching

I finished my little embroidered Cath Kidston pouch! It’s seriously a perfect little project, especially for a cross stitching newbie like me.

The pattern is so beautiful (seriously, her designs get me every time!) and fairly simple. I had never worked with soluble cross stitch canvas before and while it was sometimes harder to stitch as precises as I like, I was really impressed by how quickly it dissolved in water. This stuff means you can cross stitch on any fabric!

photo (99)

Overall, this was a great pattern: it looks complicated and impressive, but is really very simple and just a matter of counting. It’s a great first project from this book. And since all the materials come free with the book, what’s not to love?

The only problem was that I’m apparently much more liberal with embroidery thread than Cath Kidston, because I ran out of thread super quickly. I improvised a bit, using what I had, and changed the pattern a bit. In the end, no one would notice if I don’t point out the differences. Except me, of course!

photo (96)

To finish up the project, I ironed on some light interfacing to protect the back of the embroidery (this wasn’t in the directions, but I always think it’s a good idea), then cut up all the different elements and sewed the pouch up.

Now I just need to figure out what to put in this little granny chic accessory. Maybe it’ll be my embroidery pouch? Any other ideas?

photo (95)

On an unrelated note, I’m joining Izzie from Izzie Knitsย for a knit along!ย We’ll be tacking the Wolly Wormhead’s Everglade hat pattern. Want to join in? Just let Izzie know!

7 thoughts on “Cath Kidston Stitching

  1. Your pouch is so pretty Grace! How big is it? You could use it for cosmetics, pencils or pens, or like you wrote needlework items. I am now inspired to stop just looking at the Anna Maria’s Needlework Notebook that you gave me for Christmas and get serious about starting a project!

  2. This is so beautiful and lovely !! Congratulation ! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I don’t know if I would have the patience to do embrodery too.
    I’ve started the hat, this rib part is quite boring but once you get it, the lace pattern is really fun !
    I can’t wait to see the color that you will pick. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Did you pick the good size? I’ve chose the medium and hopefully That seems fine but that’s close!! ๐Ÿ˜‰
        I can’t Wait to see your colour, it sounds lovely!
        I love this pattern, it’s really pleasant!

Leave a Reply

